• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
Publications
Book
The Soviet Forestry Industry in the 1950s and 1960s: A Project of Modernization and Technology Transfer from Finland

Kochetkova E. A.

Iss. 52: Economic and social history. Helsinki: University of Helsinki, 2017.

Book chapter
“A Sign of Good Neighborliness”: Images of the Saimaa Canal in the Soviet Union In print

Kochetkova E. A.

In bk.: Waterways and the Cultural Landscape. Routledge, 2018.

Working paper
Regimes of the Russian–Swedish border in the Novgorod Lands

Selin A. A., Kukushkin K., Sablin I. et al.

Humanities. HUM. Basic Research Programme, 2017. No. 149.

About the Center for Historical Research

Center for Historical Research was founded in 2012. The mission of the Center is to systematically develop methodologies and approaches of global, comparative, and transnational history in different fields of historical research.

Fields of research:

  • The Russian Empire and the Soviet Union
  • Comparative history of empire, colonialism, and nationalism
  • Environmental and technological history
  • Social and cultural history of borders and borderlands
  • Intellectual history and history of science
  • History and anthropology of religion
  • History of Parliamentarism and Constitutionalism in Russian and Eurasian History
  • Historical Geography, digital humanities, and GIS

Since July 2017 the Center is a member of the European Information and Research Network on Parliament History. The Center for Historical Research is the only research organization from Russia among the network members.

The Center hosts research projects, some of them are international research collaborations.

Since the beginning the Center hosts a regular research seminar “Boundaries of History. ” The main strategic partners in organizing the seminars are Deutsches Historisches Institut (DWHI) Moskau, Norwegian University Center in St. Petersburg and the Netherlands Institute in Saint Petersburg . Within 5 years the Center has held more than 60 seminars.

During the seminars we discuss  opportunities and potentialities of historical research across the boundaries of national history and beyond the research agenda of national historiographic canon;  the history of diversity and  the policies of difference; the porous boundaries between the discipline of history and adjacent fields of social sciences and potentialities of the cross-disciplinary research agenda setting; the imagined boundary between the past and the present and the relevance of historical knowledge for contemporary and future-oriented public and expert debate in modern societies.

The Center hosts a program of International Associate Research Fellows for Ph.D. students and junior researchers.  In the period from 2012-2017, 17 fellows have held their researches at the Center. Fellows are granted access to research facilities of the Center for Historical Research and are included in the Center’s seminars and conferences.

In 2015 the Richard Stites Memorial Historical Library was opened at the Center. The library is named after Richard Stites, who was a historian of Russian culture and professor of history at Georgetown University. There are more than 1600 books on history, social and human sciences, English translations of Russian philosophers, historians and publicists in the collection, and the fundamental works on all historical areas. About a third of the books are on the history and culture of the USA and Europe. The opening of the Richard Stites Historical Memorial Library was made possible by the generous donation of the Carmel Institute of Russian Culture and History at American University in Washington and with the great support of Deutsche Forshungsgemeinschaft. Research fellows of the Center can use the Library for research. 

Presentation about the Center     Center for Historical Research-.pptx

Interview with Director of the Center About the Development of Historical Studies of the Russian Empire at the IV Russian-German Week of the Young Researchers (2014)

Interview with the Director of the Center Alexander Semyonov «Whither New Imperial History? New Approaches to Russian History» (2016)

Video archive

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
Публикации
Книга
Что такое глобальная история?

Конрад С.

М.: Новое литературное обозрение, 2018.

Статья
Смена моделей освоения советского Севера в 1950-е гг. Случай Комиссии по проблемам Севера

Калеменева Е. А.

Сибирские исторические исследования. 2018. № 2. С. 181-200.

Глава в книге
ЗАПАХ ДЕНЕГ: МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЙ РЫНОК ЖИРОВ И РУССКИЕ МОРСКИЕ ПРОМЫСЛЫ В XVII–XVIII в.

Крайковский А. В., Дадыкина М. М.

В кн.: ТОРГОВЛЯ, КУПЕЧЕСТВО И ТАМОЖЕННОЕ ДЕЛО В РОССИИ В XVI–XIX вв. Сборник материалов Четвертой международной научной конференции (Нижний Новгород, 28–30 сентября 2017 г.). Н. Новгород: Национальный исследовательский Нижегородский государственный университет им. Н.И. Лобачевского, 2018. С. 313-321.

О Центре исторических исследований

Центр Исторических Исследований был основан в 2012 году.

Задача Центра - систематическая разработка методологии и подходов глобальной, сравнительной и транснациональной истории в различных областях исторических исследований.

Области исследований:

Российская империя и Советский Союз

Сравнительная история империи, колониализма и национализма

Экологическая и технологическая история

Социальная и культурная история границ и пограничья

Интеллектуальная история и история науки

История и антропология религии

История парламентаризма и конституционализма в истории России и Евразии

Историческая география, цифровые гуманитарные науки и ГИС

С июля 2017 года Центр исторических исследований является институциональным партнером European Information and Research Network on Parliament History. Центр исторических исследований является единственным членом представляющим Россию.

В Центре реализуются международные партнерства и научные проекты.

С момента основания Центра проводится регулярный научно-исследовательский семинар «Границы истории». Основными стратегическими партнерами в организации семинаров являются Германский исторический институт в Москве, Норвежский университетский центр в Санкт-Петербурге и Голландский институт в Санкт-Петербурге. С 2012 года Центр провел более 60 семинаров.

Во время семинаров обсуждаются следующие темы: возможности и потенциал исторического исследования через  пересечение границ национальной истории и вне исследовательской повестки дня национального историографического канона; история разнообразия и политика различения; пористые границы между историей как дисциплиной и смежными областями социальных наук, а также и возможности междисциплинарной постановки исследовательских задач; воображаемая граница между прошлым и настоящим, актуальность исторического знания для современных и перспективных общественных и экспертных дискуссий в современных обществах.

В Центре действует программа для международных ассоциированных научных сотрудников с исследователями из международных университетов. В период с 2012-2017 гг., в рамках программы Центр принял 17 исследователей, которым предоставляется доступ к научным ресурсам и возможность участия в научных семинарах и конференциях Центра.

В 2015 году в Центре была открыта мемориальная историческая библиотека Ричарда Стайтса. Библиотека названа в честь Ричарда Стайтса, историка русской культуры, профессора истории Джорджтаунского университета. Коллекция насчитывает более 1600 книг по истории, социальным и гуманитарным наукам, английские переводы русских философов, историков и публицистов, а также фундаментальные труды по всем историческим областям. Треть книг посвящена истории и культуре США и Европы. Открытие исторической мемориальной библиотеки Ричарда Стайтса стало возможным благодаря щедрому пожертвованию Института российской культуры и истории имени Кармеля в Американском университете в Вашингтоне и значительной поддержке Немецкого научно-исследовательского общества. Научные сотрудники Центра могут использовать ресурсы библиотеки  для исследований.

 

Презентация о Центре (на английском языке)       Center for Historical Research.pptx

Интервью с директором Центра о перспективных направлениях исследований на 4-ой Российско-Германской неделе молодого ученого (2014 г.)

Интервью с директором Центра Александром Семеновым «Whither New Imperial History? New Approaches to Russian History» (2016 г.)

Интервью с директором Центра Александром Семеновым к пятилетию научного семинара "Границы истории"   Academ_area_49.pdf (Окна роста 2017г.)

Видеоархив